Coastal Property Owners Association of Santa Cruz County


Keith Adams
Dave DeBoer
Jim Marshall
Susan Rose

A discussion was held regarding the merits of our Association joining in on the appeal of the County’s CEQA (California Environmental Quality Act) exemption as it relates to the ordinance amendment adopted at the December 5, 2006 Board of Supervisors meeting.

The appeal was filed by Barry and Susan Porter (CPOASCC members) on January 9, 2007. Their attorneys Morgan Miller Blair are analyzing the merits of organizations such as ours and the Architects Association of Santa Cruz County joining in on the appeal.

We will seek an opinion from Morgan Miller Blair about our legal standing and associated risks of joining the appeal for review by our board prior to any commitment on our part.

It was also noted that a second appeal was filed someone named Mark Robson.

Susan will continue to work with Stephen Beck to develop our marketing campaign for our 2007 membership drive. This will also include recommendations to our web site that will facilitate membership renewals. We are targeting our mailing for April with our Membership meeting at Pajaro North (Shorebirds) in May.

Our next board meeting is scheduled for:

Saturday February 24 at 10:00 AM to noon
DeBoer residence
101 Shell Road, Unit 90
Watsonville (Pajaro Dunes North)

The meeting was adjourned at 8:45 PM.

A copy of the appeal is attached.