Coastal Property Owners Association of Santa Cruz County
Minutes of February 24, 2005 board meeting

Attendees: Keith Adams
Bill Osberg
Rich Berg
Jim Marshall
Augie Motmons
Gene Bernald – Depot Hill
Dave DeBoer – Pajaro Dunes Shorebirds
Art Cooley – Seascape

Keith introduced the guests at the meeting and said that Augie Motmons, Chris Hooper, and Bill Geisreiter had agreed to open their seats to new board members. Dave Britten from West Cliff Drive had to decline the offer of a board seat due to a new business commitment. As a result he did not attend.

Keith led a discussion about the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary and their desire to get involved in the seawall permit process in Monterey Bay. Currently their management plan update is biased strongly against seawalls. Keith asked for someone to research this issue and find out how homeowners can get input into this process. Dave DeBoer volunteered to do this.

Jim and Bill agreed to take editorial responsibility for the web site. Some suggestions were to add some links to the Sierra Club, Surfriders, Surfers Environmental Alliance and other groups that distribute misinformation, to raise the awareness of our members about the positions they take. After some work on the content, we will email the board for feedback before the next board meeting, and vote on approval for publicizing to the members.

Art is interested in being active with the CPOA, but he cannot be a board member because of a legal consideration.

The meeting continued after the guests were excused. Keith made a motion to accept Bill Geisreiter’s and Augie Motmons’ resignations and offer board seats to Gene Bernald and Dave DeBoer. Seconded by Rich and agreed unanimously.

We will continue to search for two additional members, at least one from up the coast (towards Davenport).

The meeting was adjourned at 9:10.